Botswana, one of Africa’s most stable countries, is a landlocked country sharing borders with Zambia, Zimbabwe, Namibia and South Africa. The border between Botswana and Zambia is only 150 metres which makes it the shortest border in the world. Sparsely populated, Botswana protects some of Africa’s largest areas of wilderness and safari-based tourism is tightly controlled. Tourism is their second largest source of revenue after diamonds.

More about Botswana


Mozambique is widely known for its beautiful white sandy beaches, lively music and delicious seafood. It was a Portuguese colony from 1891 – 1975. After the civil war, the UN negotiated the peace agreement between Frelimo and Renamo forces ending the fighting in 1992. The capital, Maputo used to be called Lorenço Marques before independence. It is a cosmopolitan city with Portuguese being the official language.

More about Mozambique


Namibia, one of the youngest countries in Africa, is situated in the south western part of the continent and is largely malaria free. It gets its name from the oldest desert, the Namib Desert and is the second least densely populated country. The capital is Windhoek and the predominant income in the country is derived from mining, fishing, tourism and agriculture with tourism being its fastest growing sector. It was previously a German colony and won its independence in 1990.

More about Namibia

South Africa

South Africa, a country rich and diverse, from majestic Table Mountain and the scenic Drakensberg, to the great variety of wildlife in their natural habitat, star gazing, vineyard tours, deep sea fishing, adventure sports and so much more. Influenced by many; the KhoiSan, other indigenous tribes, the Portuguese, French, Dutch, Malay and English – this is South Africa. 9 distinct provinces, 11 official languages, multiethnic, multicultural, a rainbow nation. And yes, a world in one country!

More about South Africa


Zambia borders on the countries of Botswana, Zimbabwe, DRC, Tanzania, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia and Angola. It is commonly regarded as one of the safest countries, managing to avoid the war and upheaval that has marked much of Africa’s post-colonial history. The capital city is Lusaka, originally built as a village and home to over 1.5 million people. The Zambians are warm and friendly and with the many tribes and traditions, it offers a multifaceted cultural experience.

More about Zambia


Zimbabwe is bordered by South Africa, Botswana, Mozambique and Zambia. Its name derives from Great Zimbabwe, meaning “great houses of stone”. A key attraction is the Victoria Falls, the world’s largest waterfall. There are roughly 16 million inhabitants, with the capital city being Harare. Although there are 16 official languages, the most commonly spoken are English, Shona and Ndebele. Due to hyperinflation of the Zimbabwe dollar, the US$ is the official currency.

More about Zimbabwe